Home Page Home Page Contact Us Locations Get A Quote

Maryland Senate Bill 321 has been signed into law by Governor O'Malley.

The new law will prohibit all Maryland drivers from using a Cell Phone without a Hands Free Device while operating a motor vehicle.

In addition the new law would prohibit "a holder of a learner’s instructional permit or provisional driver’s license who is 18 years of age or older from driving a motor vehicle while using a handheld telephone".

The fine for a first offense would be $40 and subsequent offenses would be $100.

The new law would be a secondary offense, meaning that a driver must first be committing a primary offense such as speeding or reckless driving before they could be ticketed for a Cell Phone offense.

The new law is scheduled to go into effect in October, 2010.


Posted 8:24 AM  View Comments

Share |


No Comments


Post a Comment
Name
Required
E-Mail
Required (Not Displayed)
Comment
Required


All comments are moderated and stripped of HTML.
Submission Validation
Required
CAPTCHA
Change the CAPTCHA codeSpeak the CAPTCHA code
 
Enter the Validation Code from above.
NOTICE: This blog and website are made available by the publisher for educational and informational purposes only. It is not be used as a substitute for competent insurance, legal, or tax advice from a licensed professional in your state. By using this blog site you understand that there is no broker client relationship between you and the blog and website publisher.
Blog Archive


View Mobile Version